Peruvian citizens may enter Europe without a Schengen visa as of March 2016, according to information released from the Ministry.

Ana María Sánchez, the Minister for Foreign Affairs, has said that as of March of this year the authorities in Peru and the European Union will sign a provisional agreement to eliminate the visa. Immediately following the signing, the exemption will go into force.

¨As of the day following the signing, Peruvians will be allowed to enter Europe without the requirement of having a visa. It is a priority for us to insure the visa exemption agreement between Peru and the EU for short stays goes into force,¨ noted the minister.

The minister also told the responsible state agency that the member states of the European Union are at the moment waiting on the issuance of biometric passports from the National Immigration Authority.

In agreement with the state agency, the Ministry still has not finalized the hiring process of the service to issue the aforementioned passports.

Travellers may stay 90 days in the country they visit.

Elimination of the Schengen visa allows entry without a visa into the following countries: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, the Czech Republic, Sweden and Switzerland.

This website uses cookies. See Cookies Policy    >